Berkeley-Haas Entrepreneurship

Larson Scholarships


In Brief:


The Jack Larson Scholarship was established in 2008 to support MBA and undergraduate Haas students interested in an entrepreneurial career. The Berkeley-Haas Entrepreneurship Program wishes to thank Jack Larson for his ongoing contribution to entrepreneurship education.

Information on MBA Scholarship

The Jack Larson Fellowship is designed to assist entrepreneurs entering their second year of the full-time MBA program. Three recipients will be selected and each will receive $12,500. The application information for Spring 2023 can be found here.  

The question that will appear on the form: Please describe your career goals and entrepreneurial aspirations. Indicate how the fellowship will help you achieve your personal and professional goals. Limit response to 500 words.

Information on Undergraduate Scholarships

For the 2021-22 academic year, three to five awards of $2500 will be given to outstanding undergraduate students interested in entrepreneurship and who have shown a great need for support because of family hardship or who have overcome obstacles to be admitted to Haas. A faculty and staff committee will make the selections based on academic achievements, entrepreneurial experience, career goals, and financial need.

Criteria for Jack Larson Scholarship

Students must have at least one semester of study remaining toward their undergraduate degree (graduating in May 2023 or later). A faculty and staff committee will make the selections based on academic achievements, entrepreneurial experience, career goals, and financial needs. Financial need will be a factor in the final selection. Candidates must demonstrate financial need or indicate if they will be receiving support from other sources, i.e., fellowships, work, grants, etc. It is the intention of the fellowships that any awarded funds be applied toward the student’s direct educational expenses (i.e., tuition, books, etc.).

Application Information

Your completed application should contain:

Resume – Please include an updated copy of your resume that includes the following information: Full Name, Mailing Address, City/State/Zip Code, Contact Phone Number, and Email.

One Letter of Recommendation – The recommendation should specifically evaluate your entrepreneurial qualities and can be from an instructor or employer. The letter should be submitted in a sealed and signed envelope.

Statement of Interest in an Entrepreneurial Career & Financial Need – Describe your career goals and entrepreneurial aspirations, as well as the contributions of your undergraduate program, specifically entrepreneurship courses, and entrepreneurship activities to the fulfillment of your goals. Indicate how the fellowship will help you achieve your personal and professional goals. Please demonstrate your financial need or indicate if you are or will be receiving support from other sources, i.e., fellowships, work, grants, etc. Please limit your response to two pages, single-spaced, in 12-point font with one-inch margins.

Application Deadlines

The application deadline for 2022-2023 is Friday, April 28th at 11:59 PM (PST). All materials can be submitted via email to in one PDF file with the following filename: Last Name_First Name_Jack Larson Application 2023.

The letter of recommendation can be emailed directly to with the subject line: LOR Jack Larson – [Students Full Name]. The Letter of Recommendation must be sent directly from the recommender’s email address. 

Undergraduate Scholarship Recipients:

Arushi Somani
Rajavi Mishra

Ryan Cardiff
Roy Kamineni
Gwynevere Hunger
Nathaniel Leong
Hanna Ostapchuk

Annam Quraishi
Adetutu Sadiq
Hannah Kim


Alice Deng
Hassan Hankir
Daniel Shaby
Andrew Tan
David Tao

Dante Alvarado-Leon
Medina Nathaniel
Brianna Bottle
Pedro Espinoza
Alice Deng

No Recipients

Erica Lee
Lonjino Lazcano
Victor Umunze

Kiron Chandy
Rosemary Hua
Adena Ishii
Erica Lee
Lonjino Lazcano
Michael Ortiz
Kylan Nieh

Michael Ortiz
Kylan Nieh
Ivan Zhou

Dulguun Bayaraa
Nanxi Liu
Cristina Nicoara
Raj Pandey
Hannah Yang

Reeta Banerjee
Brittany Deyan
Aditya Mahesh
Alicia Salmeron
Emily Tung

Laura Grandbois
Sandy Lin
Ryan Theimer
Behzad Reyhan

Justin Amey
Doreen Bloch
Ashley Pao
Mario Alejandro Restrepo
Eugene Shenkar
Cailin Trinh

MBA Scholarship Recipients:

Ryan Littlefield
Shruti Sethi

Malika Chawla
Santiago Freyria
Tushar Misra

Andrew Briggs
Jordan Sale
Somiran Gupta

Sara Nomanbhoy
Alexandro Jara Hernandez
Sal Parsa

Michael Ebel, MBA 2017
Jake Huston, MBA 2017
Shaihdah Rashid, MBA 2017

Ashley Lohmann, MBA 2016
George Roche, MBA 2016

Andrew Berry, MBA 2015
Andrew Goodman, MBA 2015
Moses Lo, MBA 2015
James Wang, MBA 2015

Anthony Baldor, MBA 2014
Emily Hahn, MBA 2014
Alex Loa, MBA 2014

Brian Feth, MBA 2013
Melissa Millan, MBA 2013
Jens Uehlecke, MBA 2013

Robbie Bhanthal, MBA 2012
Vivek Bidwai, MBA 2013
Diego Prieto, MBA 2012

Bryan Mao, MBA 2011
Diego Prieto, MBA 2012
Robbie Bhathal, MBA 2012

Amanda Walker Murnane, MBA 2010
Raimundo Silva, MBA 2010
Bryan Mao, MBA 2011

Amanda Walker Murnane
Raimundo Silva

About Jack Larson

Jack LarsonJohn M. Larson is the sole sponsor of the Larson Scholarships.

In 1994, Larson founded Career Education Corporation, currently the one of the largest for-profit education companies in the United States. Under his leadership, the company’s annual revenues surpassed $2 billion in less than 12 years, and achieved a compound annual growth rate of 44 percent in the last five years. Career Education Corporation was ranked fourth on FORTUNE magazine’s 2003 list of the 100 Fastest-Growing Companies, and first in the for-profit sector. CEC also ranked in the Top 20 of the 2003 “Hot Growth Companies” as measured by BusinessWeek magazine. Larson’s guidance drove the acquisition of gold standard brands such as Brooks Institute of Photography and Le Cordon Bleu Schools North America and the expansion of on-site and online educational offerings throughout the U.S., France, the United Kingdom, Dubai and Canada. In 2000, Larson was named Ernst & Young’s “Entrepreneur of the Year” for the Illinois and northwestern Indiana region in the service category. Larson has recently been named as one of the first inductees to the Hall of Fame at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley.